Building Relationships on HIV and sex work

Published: March 1, 2011

As co-organizers of the first-ever Asia and the Pacific Regional Consultation on HIV and Sex Work –
the Asia Pacific Network of Sex Workers (APNSW), the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
Asia Pacific Regional Office, the Joint United Nations Programme on AIDS (UNAIDS) Regional
Support Team for Asia and the Pacific, would like to express their sincere gratitude to regional and country partners from the United Nations (UN), government, civil society and sex worker organizations in Asia and the Pacific for supporting the first Regional Consultation (October 2010).

Preparation for the Consultation has been excellently coordinated by Nadia van der Linde who also formulated this report. The rapporteur team, consisting of Wade Bromley, Quynh Nguyen, Mona Sheikh Mahmud, and Richard Steen, worked tirelessly to ensure proper documentation of the proceedings. Special thanks are offered to Smriti Ayral, Andrew Hunter, Chaiyos Kunanusont, Philip Nalangan and Beth Magne-Watts for efforts in overall preparation and finalization of the report.

In October 2009 the first organizing committee meeting took place, followed by several other meetings in 2010. The following people are thanked for their participation in and valuable contributions to the organizing committee: Fatimah (Selvi) Abdullah, Chantiwipa Apisuk, Smriti Ayral, Nandinee Bandyopadhyay, Anne Bergenstrom, Sonia Bezziccheri, Kiran Bhatia, Wade Bromley, Jennifer Butler, Elizabeth Cameron, Vincent Crisostomo, Anne Harmer, Richard Howard, Andrew Hunter, Surang Janyam, Amarasa Jaruphan, Somyot Kittimunkong, Chaiyos Kunanusont, Nadia van de Linde, Beth Magne-Watts, Chamrong Phaengnongyang,

Durga Anada Pujari, Habibur Rahman, Rathi Ramanathan, Josephine Sauvarin, Meena Seshu, Edmund Settle, Taweesap Siraprapasiri, Petchsri Sirinirund, Khartini Slamah, Angela Smith, Ruth Morgan Thomas, Tracy Tully, Jane Wilson, David Wilson and Kay Thi Win.

Special thanks goes also to Director of the UNFPA Asia Pacific Regional Office, Nobuko Horibe, Director of the UNAIDS Regional Support Team for Asia and the Pacific, Steve Kraus and Deputy-Director of the UNFPA Asia Pacific Regional Office, Najib Assifi. The Consultation would never be possible without their support and leadership.

The following people contributed to the formulation of four thematic discussion papers that have been crucial in the development of a common understanding and key messages on HIV and sex work between the various stakeholders: Selvi Abdullah, Chantawipa Apisuk, Chumpon Apisuk, Smriti Aryal, Nandinee Bandyopadhyay, Kiran Bhatia, Jennifer Butler, Liz Cameron, Dawn Foderingham, Anne Harmer, Richard Howard, Andrew Hunter, Giten Khwairakpam, Chaiyos Kunanusont, Nadia van der Linde, Buyu Mayoe, Nathalie Meyer, Graham Neilsen, Francesco Notti, Cheryl Overs, Zhao Pengfei, Durga Pujari, Habibur Rahman, Rathi Ramanathan, Jenne Roberts, Jo Sauvarin, Meena Seshu, Khartini Slamah, Angela Smith, Edmund Settle, Taweesap Siraprapasiri, Tim Sladden, Jane Wilson and Kay Thi Win.

Full text of article available at link below –

Leave a Reply