Action Alert: Follow up actions on vote regarding UN statement on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity

Published: March 23, 2011

Dear friends,

As we celebrate the success of the largest-ever UN statement calling for an end to violence and criminal sanctions based on sexual orientation and gender identity, it is useful to consider some immediate next steps by way of follow-up:

(i) if your government supported the initiative, please take a moment to thank them for their commitment;
(ii) if your government did not support the initiative, you might consider encouraging them to do so in future, noting that the joint statement was endorsed by 85 States from all UN regional groups;
(iii) if you feel that your government still might support the initiative, additional signatories are still being accepted.  Feel free to urge them to join, and let us know their response.

As always, a list of Foreign Ministries is available at: and the contact details to copy your Ambassador in Geneva may be found at:

For convenience, the 85 current signatories are reproduced below.

Congratulations to all those whose hard work and commitment made this initiative possible, and we look forward to working collaboratively with you all on the follow-up and next steps.

Best wishes,

Signatories to the Human Rights Council joint statement include:
Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Leave a Reply